Trainee Writer

Adventures of a screenwriter in training…

NaNoWriMo: Day 10


So, we’re ten days into this year’s NaNo and I’ve finished the day on 14,301 words, which puts me 4,032 behind schedule for day 11. This is particularly annoying to me, because I spent most of the day looking up Mexican recipes online to decide what to feed Detective Reyes for dinner, then decided that she was eating burritos. If I’d come to that conclusion just eight hours earlier, I might have been ahead of myself. I also may not have eaten so much today.

Otherwise it’s not going too badly and I’ve learned a few things about myself:

1) I spend way too much time procrastinating. Especially by doing things like updating my blog when I could be adding these words to my novel. Well, not these words, but you know. This number of words. That’d be weird if I added these words.

2) I really struggle to write when I’m at home. I mean, I can write scripts at home with ease, but I can’t focus on a novel. I think it’s sheer volume of words: a standard 50ish page TV script has about 5,000 words, give or take. I’ve written three times that so far, and in a format that I’ve not written in since I was at school. Which brings me to:

3) Writing a book is ridiculously mentally and emotionally draining. I’m trying to focus on my book, but I’m just getting sick of typing. I’m having to keep information in my head that I wrote almost three chapters ago to use later on so as not to leave plot holes. I’m constantly questioning every characters motives and style of speech. I’m also now writing gibberish, which is why my blog entries during NaNo will probably lack any real substance.

And on that note, I’m off to bed. I need to get up early tomorrow; I just found out that I’m in a word war with a guy who’s 34,000 words ahead of me. And if I try really, really hard and get really, really focused, I might just be able to make a dent in his lead tomorrow.

Until next time,

Kx

BTW: I’ve added a NaNo widget to the sidebar of the site so y’all can watch my progress. Green means I surpassed my word target and ended up above par. Red means I wrote nothing. Yellow means I’m at par, Orange means I’m slightly below. You can literally see the pattern of my work change before your eyes. Fun, eh?

November 11, 2011 - Posted by | Contests, Novels, Nuevo Oro, writing | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

