Trainee Writer

Adventures of a screenwriter in training…

NaNoWriMo: Day 4


I realize that this is the first time that I’ve mentioned this on the blog, but I decided to take part in this year’s National Novel Writing Month in the hopes of not just gaining a new experience, but also of finally finishing King Of Hearts in some sort of reasonable time frame. Sadly, I’m finding that the trouble with writing a novel is that it’s just too damned easy to get distracted, especially with the variety of options available as past-times in modern life.

I’ll get to that in a minute, let me explain NaNoWriMo first. Yes, it’s one of those posts, where I’m procrastinating and writing whatever pops into my head in the hope of kick-starting the project at hand. Bear with me. NaNoWriMo is simple: 200,000 authors attempt to write 50,000 words apiece in 30 days or less. Some decide to try to do it in one – God bless them – others, myself included, set themselves bigger challenges. Mine is to write 110,000 words this month. My total so far? 6,689. Yeah. I need to be at closer to 3,500 every day. I’ve only broken that number once, so far. Yesterday.

So the distractions? Day 1: I got on with it, but didn’t budget my time well. Lesson learned. Day 2: Got bored of writing. Went to pub. Got drunk. Forgot about writing. Wrote 200 words. Day 3: around 3,500. Worked hard, didn’t drink, didn’t get distracted. Today? About 300. Why? Watched television, went to dentist, played Angry Birds. Those damn Angry Birds, they’re ruining my masterpiece.

Time to stop procrastinating and get back to work. I love you all. Feel free to encourage me, it’s pretty obvious I need it!

Kx

November 4, 2011 - Posted by | Contests, Development Diaries, Novels, Nuevo Oro, writing | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

