Trainee Writer

Adventures of a screenwriter in training…

[Development Diary] Improper Representation – #1


It feels strange to me to be writing a development diary about something I’ve completed a draft of; usually I write these to explain my writing process and to help myself to organize some of my thoughts semi-coherently. With Improper Representation it’s all been very different to my usual methodology.

Ordinarily, an idea hits me, I scribble some note down, play with the idea in my head for a few days and sit down to write it, piece-by-piece, as the ideas come to me. In this case, the idea just hit me, so I scribbled down the basic premise (which was ever-so-slightly longer than a logline) named my characters and – BOOM! – got straight into the writing of it. Two sittings later (around six hours total, for those interested – no, I have no idea where that burst of writing energy came from either) I have a completed first draft of a thirty-page pilot script.

So what’s it about? Scott Weismann, 26, is a disgraced lawyer who flees the scene of his troubles (New York City) to return home to Los Angeles. After catching up with his high-school best-friend JJ, an out-of-work actor, he goes on a job hunt around the city only to find out that his reputation has preceded him. Nobody will hire him.

JJ, meanwhile, finds himself caught up in some office politics; his sister Rosie is in the mail room at a major talent agency -the agency that represents him – and whilst waiting for a meeting with his agent, he sees her being sexually harassed by her boss. After confronting her about it and a long wait he finally meets with his agent, who promptly informs him that he’s being dropped from the agencies books.

After lunch with the two boys, Rosie feels empowered. Called in by the boss, who wants to pimp her out to attract a new, A-list client, she finally reaches her breaking point, making his sexual harassment public and quitting her job. The three friends are at a crossroads. They’re all unemployed, all needing a new opportunity but maybe, just maybe, their shot at the American dream is staring them right in the face.

What happens next? You’ll have to wait and see if someone buys it to find out.

So that’s it, job done. Right? Nope. Now I’ve completed the first draft and, as is my custom, I’ve submitted it for review by my peers over at American Zoetrope (link is in the sidebar on the right) to see what they think; the advice they gave me was invaluable when I was creating Holland Park and I’m hoping they can be of the same help to me this time. Aside from them, the only people likely to read it before I have a final draft ready for pitching are close friends and family.

That said, it’s at this point that the most emotional investment goes into a script; whilst you might pour a small part of yourself into the writing, the characters and the story – an often-cathartic experience – the really emotional part is waiting for the reviews.

As a writer, or any kind of artist, you (and, in turn, your projects) live and die by their reviews. No matter how confident you are of your writing abilities, you never truly know how good something is until you show it to the world. If people love it, you feel on top of the world. If they think it sucks then, well, that sucks. The important thing is to keep fighting, to take any and all suggestions aboard and move on to the next project.

My next project? Well, aside from getting caught up with my reading for the contest, (I’ve had quite a few submissions so far. If you’re one of them, don’t panic, I’m getting there!) I’ve got another concept in mind that looks like it’s leaning towards being ether a sitcom or a romantic comedy feature, which I’m actively plotting right now.

I also have planning in motion for a new feature, which I’ve given the working title Invisible and tells the story of three teenage runaways trying to make a better life for themselves whilst living on the streets. It’s looking like this is going to be the grittiest, most emotional drama I’ve ever written. But that’ll be another [DD] for another day…

Until then, take care.

Kriss x

August 5, 2011 - Posted by | Development Diaries, specs, writing | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Comment by Randy Pena | August 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

